New class!!!!

My Drop-in Sewing and Dressmaking classes are proving popular.  I don’t like to turn people away or collect names on waiting lists so I’m starting another class time on Thursday mornings from 10-12, beginning on Thursday 17th March.  I’m glad there are so many people out there who want to be creative and want to make beautiful handmade gifts and one-of-a-kind pieces of clothing for themselves, family, friends and kids.

Making your own has got to make you feel better than shopping on the high street.  I don’t know if it’s my age or what, but shopping rarely gives me that buzz anymore.  Also, I want to know where my clothes come from, under what conditions they’re made and like to think that I’m not going to bump into dozens of different versions of me all wearing the same thing!

I’ve currently got people in these classes at all different levels from absolute beginner sewing machine-phobes to more experienced people and they’re making all sorts of stuff from cushion covers to lined coats.  They’re learning all kinds of techniques from making their own piping to making patterns from existing garments and I’m determined to make them all see the benefits of a good bit of tacking!

I think there are lots of happily busy sewing machines now in Brighton.  If yours is still abandoned and lonely in its box in a cupboard, shame on you.  You need to come and join us at a class soon.

To book a class or course email me at post[at]wendyward.co.uk or ring me on 01273 775951.  Single classes are £15, a block of 4 with 6 weeks in which to use them is £50.

Have a read of the Made By section for more information and student reviews of previous classes.

 

Leave a Reply

