109 year old sewing machine finds a new home with me!

This lovely old lady found her way to me yesterday after being left out on the streets of Brighton.  She’s a beauty, in need of a little TLC but working just fine despite being 109 years old!

Can you imagine today’s machines lasting 109 years?  I’d be surprised if some of them last 9 years.  I love old sewing machines, they’re such beautiful pieces of fine engineering which were built to last.  I can’t bear to see them neglected, abandoned and unloved.  Just as soon as I’ve got this exhibition out of the way I’m going to give her a good old pampering and I’m sure she’ll soon settle in nicely with some other old friends at my place.

The Singer website is excellent – you can actually date your old sewing machine and even find out where it was made (this old lady was made in 1902 in Clydebank, Scotland).  Armed with that knowledge I might name her Morna, which apparently loosely translated from Gaelic means beloved.  That’s what she’ll be again now.  No more pavements for you Morna.

One response to “109 year old sewing machine finds a new home with me!

  1. Pingback: Singer for a song | Wendy Ward

Leave a Reply

