The First Summer Frock Making Workshop

Today was the first run of my new Summer Frock Making Workshop.  I’d spent a lot of time working on some new designs and patterns – quite a challenge to come up with a range of designs that could suit all shapes and sizes and all levels of sewing ability!!

I have to admit, I felt a teensy bit guilty today as I worked my students extremely hard.  Here they are, heads down, hard at work.

frockmaking-june13-4

But it was worth it, look at these fantastic results!

frockmaking-june13-2Clare and Laura in lovely shift dresses in gorgeous printed cottons.

frockmaking-june13-1Jo and Lucy in the first garments they’ve ever made (just the hems to do)!  They were both suitably impressed and surprised with the results of their efforts!

frockmaking-june13-3And Sam in a collared version of the pull-on shift dress, which hopefully will be the rekindling of her love of sewing!

There were 5 dress patterns to use at this workshop, all of which will eventually be made up to buy as sewing patterns via MIY Collection, my range of dressmaking patterns.

Here’s what some of the students thought of the day:

“Thanks so much for today’s Frock Making workshop. It was really rewarding to rediscover skills I thought I’d forgotten and to go home at the end of the day with a new frock to wear. It’s definitely inspired me to make time for more sewing at home and I will be most certainly be back for another course soon.”

“I’m really happy with it. Just need some sunshine to wear it now! I thought it was great day, quite hard work for me but I really enjoyed it. The dress pattern was easy to use, and each step easy to follow – your advice is excellent as always.” 

“The dress is finished, it only took about a hour to do. I am very pleased with it, can’t wait for some sunshine to wear it now!”

The first 2 dates for this workshop were booked up pretty quickly so I’ve decided to add another date – Sunday 21st July.  If you fancy making your own summer frock, get in touch via email on miyworkshop[at]gmail.com or ring 01273 775951 or 693451.

Leave a Reply

