What a Brilliant Skirt Making Workshop!

Yesterday was a super productive and successful day at MIY Workshop.  I had five students for my Skirt Making workshop, who each turned up a little bit unsure, clutching bundles of lovely fabric that they were afraid of making a mess of.

Six hours of focussed hard work later, look what they produced!

skirtworkshop-sept29

Five perfectly fitting, finished skirts ready to wear home and to work the next day.  From left to right, Romy in a very autumnal skirt in a beautiful soft wool from Ditto, Alison’s skirt uses a lovely floral print on a lovely quality cotton/linen fabric from Ray Stitch, Kerry made a lovely Parisian print skirt, Claire went for polka dots which will look great for work and Taruka used a soft lightweight denim.  Three of these students have only just started sewing and these are the first garments they have made.  I think they will be the first of many…!

All five students seemed surprised by what they could achieve in a day and the standard of their finished skirts.  I don’t know why, what else did they expect?!

Here’s what they all thought of the day in their own words:

“I was really impressed with the skirt making course – Wendy is a great teacher and although I was nervous as a beginner when I arrived, by the end of the day I felt very proud with what I had achieved and had a lovely skirt to take home with me.  I would definitely recommend this course!”  Kerry

“A really fabulous day which re-ignited my love of dressmaking.  I love my skirt, thanks very much!”  Alison

“A really great day, I feel so much more confident to sew at home now and have overcome my fear of zips!”  Romy

“I have never sewn for myself and have learnt a lot of things.  I really enjoyed learning and would like to come back again, thank you!”  Teruka

“Thank you Wendy!  I’ve learnt some new skills and made a lovely new skirt – all in a day!  what a great way to spend a Sunday.  Looking forward to having a go at more on my own.”  Claire

More dates for this workshop will be coming in early 2014.  If you’d like to be able to advance book I can add you to my mailing list.  Just contact me (Wendy) on 01273 693451 or email miyworkshop[at]gmail.com

This skirt pattern will also soon be available to buy from MIY Collection.

Leave a Reply

