My Pattern Picks for Love Sewing Magazine

I was really pleased to be asked by Helen the editor of Love Sewing magazine to write the “My Pattern Picks” feature for November (issue 7).

It was a great excuse to have a look around at the range of independent patterns available.  I didn’t have to choose independent pattern brands, but there are so many good ones around, why would I choose anything else?!

My Pattern Picks for Love Sewing magazine

I wanted to choose a range of styles and levels of difficulty, hopefully including something for most sewists; new or more experienced.

Here’s what I chose:

The Linden Sweatshirt from Grainline Studios – a good classic style with a few variations included and I’m sure achievable with even just a bit of sewing experience.

The Dress Shirt from Merchant and Mills – a wonderfully versatile style to flatter most shapes and a good one for dressmakers who have already successfully completed a few garments.

The Mary Knickers from Measure Twice Cut Once – how fabulous, to make all your own knickers?!

The Maxi Skirt/Dress from “The Beginner’s Guide to Dressmaking” – one of the easiest projects from my book and a fantastically comfy staple for any wardrobe.

The Vest/Dress from MIY Collection – a real beginner pattern used loads by students in my classes at MIY Workshop. Quick and easy to make, but oh so easy to wear!

What do you think? Have I included any of your favourites?

Leave a Reply

