(Almost) 31 Days of Me Made May

I thought it would be good for me to write an end of the month post to summarise my experience of taking part in Me Made May for the first time, so here goes……

image

OK so I missed 2 days, I didn’t think it was a bad effort for my first Me Made May! Have you been taking part? Have you enjoyed it? Did you manage every single day? I’ve really enjoyed taking part and it’s made me really think about the clothes I make, the fabrics I use, the clothes I actually want to wear and putting together outfits. All of which is good for me as I’m usually a very habitual dresser; I have a few things that I know work and I leave very little time for getting dressed everyday.

What I learned and did I meet my pledge?

  • the first part of my pledge was to wear samples I’d made from my patterns everyday, which I’m please to say I managed easily and they all fitted seamlessly into my everyday wardrobe, including some nights out
  • I have an enduring fondness for: black, grey, blue, comfort, knitted fabrics, denim and stripes
  • I don’t sew much other than for “work” i.e. developing new patterns and making samples
  • I used to sew just for me, just for the hell of it, but for the past 3 years I haven’t had space for a sewing machine at home (hence my foray into the scary world of knitting – see week 1)
  • as I can only sew in MIY Workshop I think that makes me subconsciously only sew for work and my making tends to centre around developing new patterns and making new samples for existing patterns
  • taking photos of myself – I inflict this a lot on my students and I know how they feel as I hate having my photo taken, however, I’ve learned all that’s required is to move around a bit, laugh a bit, have a willing person to hold the camera straight and push the button and if you take 40+ there will be one or two good ones!!

MY TOP 3  GARMENTS (based on number of times worn):

  • the Wisewood dress (5 wears)
  • closely followed by the Fulwood dress (4 wears, 6 if you include just tops made from the pattern)
  • and the oversized t-shirt / dress that is a pattern in development (4 wears).

The other half of my pledge was to “….plan a completely selfish sewing project and get it started as a treat for finishing my book!” Hmmmm well, the book is oh-so close to the finish line and I’ve had a lot of ideas rattling round my head;

  • I’ve been meaning to make the jumpsuit or dungarees from Marilla Walker’s Roberts Collection since Christmas
  • I then toyed with jumping on the pant-making band wagon (pants of the underwear variety for US readers – i.e. knickers), but doubted my motivation to see it through perfecting an old pattern I wanted to use (I may still give it a try as I was encouraged by Kerry Green and I like the idea of a wearable project that can use up my leftover fabrics)
  • after week 4 I realised that I really want to make more one-piece Fulwood dresses for my own use as they’re just so comfy and versatile and I might try lowering the front neck slightly on a collarless version
  • then I remembered….. the Refashioners, I’ve been invited to take part in Portia Lawrie’s fabulous Refashioners again this year and really should get cracking on my project. Surely I can justify that as a nice combination of work and pleasure?!

What did you learn from taking part in Me Made May this year and did you meet your pledge…..?!

Leave a Reply

