Dylan Parka from Sewing Basics for Every Body in Yorkshire Wool

Dylan parka - Sewing Basics for Every Body

Blimey, it’s been over a year since I finished this cosy wool Dylan Parka from my last book Sewing Basics For Every Body. Ever since I’ve been meaning to write about it on here, shame on me!

Well, as the saying goes, better late than never.

I knew I wanted to make this coat as soon as the wonderful folk at Fabworks offered me some of their beautiful Heart of Huddersfield Yorkshire wool to make it. I chose two of the beautiful Yorkshire Melton fabrics which where an absolute joy to work with: the lighter grey is Morning Mist marled melton and the darker grey is Thunderbridge Storm marled melton. Fabworks are pretty good at coming up with colour names aren’t they!

I followed the instructions for the Hooded Anorak version of the Dylan project but used the full length of the parka and added cuffs as in the parka. The only change I made was to add a seam around waist level to use the two different fabrics and added pockets into this seam as used in the Tunic version of the Felix project.

Dylan parka - Sewing Basics for Every Body
Detail of the pockets I added to the waist seam.

I finished this coat over a year ago, but can confirm since then it has had a lot of wear! The fabric has worn well and the coat is super cosy.

I still have some signed copies of Sewing Basics For Every Body in my shop here.

2 responses to “Dylan Parka from Sewing Basics for Every Body in Yorkshire Wool

  1. It looks gorgeous, ideal for walks on cooler days. Did you line it?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.