Is Sewing Good For You?

image

Dear lovely reader, I’m writing something about the positive effects (mental + physical) of sewing, crafting and making with your hands. Do you have experiences (either yours or witnessed in others) that you are willing to share and would be happy to be quoted on?

I can keep names anonymous if you’d rather, just let me know. If you prefer, you can email me on post{at}wendyward.co.uk

Thank you!

15 responses to “Is Sewing Good For You?

  1. I think knitting and sewing are similar in that they are both meditative and creative and thus good of the soul!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Is Sewing Good For You? My Q&A For This Month’s Love Sewing Magazine | Wendy Ward

  3. I’ve been so much happier all round since I’ve been sewing regularly (obsessively?) I do a very intangible job, albeit a problem solving one involving mathematical models, spreadsheets and lots of stress. Like a lot of people, much of the stress now is to find ways to do more in less time rather than to learn new things so for me, sewing is both an escape using a totally different part of my mind and an area which feels full of the potential to learn and improve, vital for my personality type.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for sharing this Becca and I think you’ve hit on a problem common in our world of work. We all respond best to a bit of a challenge, being able to see that we’re getting better at something and having something tangible to show for a day’s work. So many jobs today just don’t satisfy those needs. I’ve also done an office based “thinking” job (allbeit a long time ago) and I hated the feeling that at the end of the day all I had to show for it was a pile of paper moved from one place to another (I guess a lot of people don’t even have that anymore!). I’m glad to hear you found sewing and you’re making some great stuff – I love your dad’s elbow patch sweatshirt!! Another benefit of sewing – being able to share the love by making things for others :o)

      Like

      • Thanks Wendy. To be fair the thinking suits me well, I am at heart a geek and it took me a long time to find a job that fits geek without also expecting no interpersonal skills – I like a chat 😉 But I think it is symptomatic, both of tightening margins and increased pressure for businesses leading to greater workloads and fewer staff and also perhaps of my age. I’ve been working in the same area for some years, I’m part time so I’m less able to scale the ladder so it’s good to find a challenge elsewhere!

        Like

      • Well it sounds like you found a great balance! I can understand why sewing would also appeal – we can all revel in sewing geekery and you can choose to do it alone, chat about it “virtually ” or do it in a group while having a good old natter. Win win ☺

        Like

  4. Hi this really hits home. I have spent the last 3 years reading blogs and buying fabric with no time to sew as I was studying for a work qualification. I failed the last year and it has left me totally demoralised, vitamin deficient, depressed and too exhausted to run. My usual release. It’s taken me the last 6 months on IG and sewing what I want to get past this. For quite a while I have feared to sew happy fabric in case it didn’t turn out as it does in my mind, another failure. I see this now as learning and not failing and have enjoyed sharing dodgy makes with virtual friends. I am grateful for all the honest comments I have received and now look forward positively to more happy sewing in 2016.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for sharing your experience Karen, I’m sure it will sound very familiar and therefore reassuring to many. Fear of failure in the creative process can put a complete halt to your making (and your enjoyment of it). I’m so glad you’re getting through it and happy to hear that Instagram has played a part. I find it by far the most positive of all the social media communities. Here’s to lots of happy sewing for you in 2016 :o)

      Like

  5. Pingback: Clothes That Tell Stories | Wendy Ward

  6. There is joy in making something out of nothing, and knowledge that is not in the mind but based and the body and hands. I love making.

    Like

  7. Sewing definitely has a positive effect for me, not just the satisfaction of an end product, there is something about the act of sewing, the repetition and concentration clear my mind of everyday niggles, and I feel reinvigorated.

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree more Debbie! The joy of the process and the satisfaction of something tangible at the end. It’s such a lovely process and I do thing there’s something in that repetitious nature that turns it into a kind of meditation.

      Like

  8. I would be happy to be quoted on this. When I lock myself in my room to sew, I’m like a different person. I’m learning new things, letting out my creativity, and relaxing my mind to the slow buzz of the sewing machine. It calms me down instantly.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.